Scrambles in the Lake District - South


Guide to 106 scrambling routes in the south of the Lake District, covering Langdale, Coniston, Eskdale, Patterdale and High Street.

Scrambles in the Lake District - South

Scrambles in the Lake District - South
2 In Stock

Guide to 106 scrambling routes in the south of the Lake District, covering Langdale, Coniston, Eskdale, Patterdale and High Street. A comprehensive collection of scrambles on crags and gills, which are linked together to form 24 first-class mountain days. The carefully graded routes range from scrambling grade 1 to climbing grade V Diff, so there is something for beginners as well as veteran mountaineers - rock climbing equipment is advised for more difficult routes. Each scramble is clearly described with notes about grade, quality, aspect and approach, with colour maps and topos to aid navigation. There is information on safety and equipment, and listings of scrambles by location and grade allow the reader to assemble their own tailor-made combination of routes.

The Lake District is one of the most scenic areas in the world and this guide offers routes in previously unexplored corners of the region alongside popular classics such as Jack's Rake, Esk Gorge and Pinnacle Ridge, as well as dramatic gills like Dungeon and Linkcove Gill.

Ten classic rock climbs are also presented, including Giant's Crawl, Middlefell Buttress and Crescent Climb.

South Eastern Fells
Route 1 Grisedale: Eagle Crag and St Sunday Crag.
Route 2 Dovedale and Deepdale round via Hogget Gill and Hutaple Crag.
Route 3 Deepdale round via Link Cove Gill and Gill Crag.
Route 4 High Street tour via Angle Tarn Beck, Gray Crag and Blea Water Crag.
Route 5 Haweswater, Mosedale and Sleddale gills.
Route 6 Easedale and Scale Close gills.
Route 7 Harrison Stickle via Raven Crag or Middlefell Buttress, and Tarn Crag.
Route 8 Pavey Ark via White Gill Edge, Crescent Climb and Gwynne’s Chimney.
Route 9 Pavey Ark via Stickle Ghyll and Jack’s Rake.
Route 10 Harrison Stickle via Dungeon Ghyll.
Route 11 Pike of Stickle via White Crag and Merlin Slab.
Route 12 Pike of Stickle via Stake Gill.
Route 13 Crinkle Crags via Crinkle Gill and Bowfell Links.
Route 14 Browney Gill and Black Wars.
Route 15 Upper Eskdale via Hell Gill.
Coniston Fells
Route 16 Great How via Church Beck and Levers Water.
Route 17 The Bell, Low Water Beck, Brim Fell slabs and Raven Tor.
Route 18 Dow Crag buttresses.
Route 19 Seathwaite Tarn crags.
Route 20 Eskdale Needle and Harter Fell.
Route 21 Low Birker Force, Crook Crag, Green Crag and Brandy Crag.
Route 22 Scafell’s southern crags.
Route 23 The Scafells via Esk Gorge, Cam Spout and the Eskdale slabs.
Route 24 Scafell Pike via Lingcove Beck and Thor’s Buttress.

Well illustrated throughout with maps and photos.

By John Fleetwood.

Card cover with plastic cover, 17cm x 11.5cm, 256 pages.

Published 2021.

ISBN: 9781786310453.

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better.

Your order contains no items